Fire Classifications

Fires are classified into four categories that include:

  • Class A - Ordinary combustibles or fibrous material, such as:
    • Cloth
    • Paper
    • Rubber
    • Some plastics
    • Wood
  • Class B - Flammable or combustible liquids such as:
    • Gasoline
    • Kerosene
    • Paint
    • Paint thinners
    • Propane
  • Class C - A fire involving any type of energized electrical equipment
  • Class D - Certain combustible metals, such as magnesium, titanium, potassium and sodium. These metals burn at high temperatures and give off sufficient oxygen to support combustion. They may react violently with water or other chemicals, and must be handled with care.